Banks Peninsula Ward and Community Board

There are two community boards in the Banks Peninsula Ward: Akaroa-Wairewa and Lyttelton-Mount Herbert.

Estimated population: 8710 as at 30 June 2018 population estimate.

View Excel population data [XLSX, 23 KB] for all community boards and wards.

Projected population based on 2013 figures:

2018 2023 2028 2033 2028 2043
8,740 8,900 9,060 9,190 9,260 9,250

The Banks Peninsula Community Board Plan for 2017-19 [PDF, 2.5 MB] was developed by talking with the community and is the Board's vision for the future of Banks Peninsula.

Contact the Community Board

Akaroa Harbour Basin Small Settlements Study

The purpose of this Akaroa Harbour Basin Settlements Study was to take an integrated, long-term view (25 to 30 years) of land-use change and other issues within the settlements of the harbour basin and incorporate the local community's preferences on how future land-use changes should be managed.

Akaroa Places and Spaces Plan

This Places and Spaces [PDF, 1.4 MB]Plan provides guidance and recommendations for the future direction and management of the public realm of Akaroa Township, ensuring that public places reflect the local character and provide for ease of access and movement.

Banks Peninsula contextual historical overview

This contextual overview and thematic framework [PDF, 28 MB] provides a broad overview and understanding of Banks Peninsula and its development in the last 150 years, which is pivotal for the future identification and management of heritage.

Ward profiles

Based on data from Statistics New Zealand.

Banks Peninsula Ward

Population, dwelling, household and family information

Banks Peninsula Subdivisions

Population and key facilities