Christchurch Civic Awards

Each year our city benefits from the service of volunteers and others who go above and beyond the call of duty for Christchurch and its people. We recognise these valued contributions with our annual Civic Awards.

2023 Christchurch Civic Awards recipients

Laureates in alphabetical order:

  • Victoria Andrews
  • Kevin Cole
  • Louisa Eades
  • Dave Evans
  • Robert Fleming
  • Hayley Guglietta
  • Peter Hayes
  • Katrina Hill
  • Dr Lynn Lochhead
  • Alfred (Lew) McIvor
  • David Newton
  • Brian Palliser
  • Anthony Powell
  • Dr. Bhola Ram Pradhan
  • Barbara Price
  • Don Rowlands
  • Judith Thacker
  • Verity Verster
  • Vui Suli Tuitaupe
  • The Ōtautahi Māori Wardens

View the full details of the 2023 recipients and their services.

The Chair and members of the Civic Awards Subcommittee wish to thank the public for their interest in the Civic Awards and for submitting nominations for consideration.


The criteria for judging sets out some guidelines for the Committee and recommends a process for judging that allows for clarity and accountability:

  • Judging panel cannot act as a nominator.
  • The Council, as a body, may not submit nominations, although nominations may be submitted by councillors and community board members as individuals.
  • Each nomination will be judged on its own merit against the following criteria: 
    1. Work of a substantial nature is defined as short-term or long-term projects or activities that have benefited the city in such a way as to have added to the quality of life of the residents. 
    2. Each nomination is considered in the way it benefits the metropolitan area of Christchurch. Metropolitan means the area encompassing the east coast, the boundaries of Selwyn District Council, Waimakariri District Council and Banks Peninsula. 
  • Nominations may be made for individuals and organisations whose work, usually of a voluntary capacity, is considered to have made an impact on the city of Christchurch.
  • No award recipient will be eligible to receive both a Civic Award and a Community Board Award in the same year.