This suburban haven is primarily used by local residents, but its collection of mature trees, an attractive stream and a scented garden are worthy of a wider appreciation.


Abberley Park has its origins as a private garden, with the earliest trees dating from the 1860s. Enjoy the children’s playground - well-used for generations - as well as lawns, meandering stream side pathways, extensive plantings, plenty of seating, a charming fountain and even a paddling pool for those balmy summer days.


The main entrance to Abberley Park is located on Abberley Crescent in St Albans, there are also access points on Ranfurly Street and Kinleys Lane. 


Dogs must be on a leash in the park, but are allowed off leash and under effective control on the flat eastern lawn area only. Dogs are also prohibited from being within one metre of playground equipment.

Find more parks you can take your dog.


Abberley Park has two playgrounds, one on the East Lawn and another on the West Lawn, along with a fenced paddling pool.

The playgrounds consist of a block wall, multi-play structure, roundabout, see-saw, slides and swings. Find more playgrounds(external link) in local parks.

The paddling pool is open every year from mid-November to 31 March. Find more paddling pools in parks. 


The original homestead was built in in the 1860s by Thomas James Maling and named for his home village of Abberley in Worcestershire, England.

After a series of different owners, the Council was offered the land in 1939 and decided to convert the property into a public park and playground, and would make every attempt to retain the original 19th century character of the parkland style gardens.

After some consideration, the homestead was dismantled with one room retained to be used as a pavilion and play house. The rose garden was retained as were many original trees and shrubs but the kitchen garden and orchards were replaced with new lawn and ornamental plants. The eastern lawn, originally a horse paddock, was cultivated into lawn to provide a sports ground and playground for children. In the end, 712 trees, 5126 herbaceous and bulbous plants and over 6000 annuals were planted. 

In the mid 1950s Huia Gilpin, then Director of the Botanic Gardens, designed a garden for the blind to serve the nearby Institute of the Blind hostel 'Fernwood'. This opened in 1964 and remnant elements can be seen as part of the Scented Garden today. 

For more information about the history of the property, read the Abberley Park entry in the District Plan(external link) or take a look at a digital version of the Official Souvenir Programme for Abberley Park(external link) from 1940.


There are four bookable areas within the grounds of Abberley Park - North Lawn, East Lawn, West Lawn and the Scented Garden. 

Abberley Park Hall is also available to hire for events.

Contact us(external link) to check availability and to make a booking. 

Check terms and conditions [PDF, 450 KB] for booking sites in Abberley Park.


With a host of meandering pathways, explore the Abberley Park Walk to see the best of the space.

Photo gallery