Notice of By-election - Lyttelton Community Subdivision of the Te Pātaka o Rākaihautū Banks Peninsula Community Board

A by-election is required to fill an extraordinary vacancy for a Lyttelton community subdivision representative on the Te Pātaka o Rākaihautū Banks Peninsula Community Board. The vacancy has arisen from the recent resignation of Reuben Davidson.


Nominations for the above position open on Friday 24 November 2023 and must be made on the official nomination form. Copies of the nomination form and a candidate information sheet can be requested from the Christchurch City Council Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch, downloaded from link), or from the electoral officer (see contact details below).

Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than 12 noon on Friday 22 December 2023. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 including GST, payable by EFTPOS, cash or online banking (see nomination form for requirements).

Candidates are encouraged to also submit a candidate profile statement and recent photograph. The requirements for the profile statement and photo are set out in the candidate information sheet, which all candidates should refer to. All nomination documents must be lodged together.

Electoral rolls

A preliminary roll for the by-election can be inspected during normal operating hours at any of the following venues from Friday 24 November to Friday 22 December 2023:

  • Christchurch City Council, Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street
  • Lyttelton Library and Service Centre, 18 Canterbury Street

Residential electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the electoral roll by contacting the Electoral Commission:

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available from Christchurch City Council Civic Offices or from link) and must be returned to the electoral officer before 4pm on Friday 22 December 2023.

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 4pm on Friday 22 December 2023.

Election details

If a voting process is required to fill this vacancy, it will be conducted by postal voting under the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting papers. The voting papers will be mailed out to electors on Friday 26 January 2024 and voting will close at 12 noon on Saturday 17 February 2024.

Jo Daly
Electoral Officer
PO Box 73016, Christchurch 8154
03 941 8581 link)