Christchurch City is recognised as New Zealand’s Garden City with over 740 parks and an extensive system of rivers, streams and wetlands. Over time, these have been maintained by various local authorities that have merged with Christchurch City Council.

This includes Waimairi County Council, Paparua County Council and New Brighton Borough Council. The Christchurch City Council archives hold a number of listings for Parks and Reserves but information can often be located within Minute Books. The Archivist will advice accordingly.