Council archives

The Christchurch City Council archives are a rich resource for the history and development of Christchurch. Our records date back to when the Council was first established in 1862 and include records from amalgamated local authorities.

About the Council Archives

What is in the Archive and how to access it.

Correspondence records

Inwards and outwards correspondence dating back to 1862.

Digitised records

Examples of some of the items that have been digitised, including maps and building plans.

Local government electoral rolls

Electoral rolls from 1909 to the present day are available through Christchurch City Libraries.

Minute Books

The deliberations and resolutions adopted within official meetings.

Records of former local authorities

Records created by some of the superseded road boards, borough councils, county councils and district councils.


Includes rating and valuation records, and historic building permits. Property files are not held within the Archive.

Parks and Reserves

Listings for parks and reserves in the Archive. Information can also often be located within Minute Books.