Rates are assessed annually on each property, payable in four instalments.

If you wish to pay rates in one sum you can.  Disregard instalment 1 and pay the 'Amount payable to clear rates for year' on instalment 2 without incurring the seven per cent late payment penalty for missing the due date for the first instalment.

Due dates for instalments

Areas (see map below for a more detailed view) Instalment 1 Instalment 2 Instalment 3 Instalment 4
Area 1:
Central City and suburbs of Addington, Banks Peninsula, Beckenham, Mairehau, Merivale, Opawa, Papanui, Riccarton, Spreydon, St Albans, Sydenham.
15 Aug 15 Nov 15 Feb 15 May
Area 2:
Suburbs of Cashmere, Heathcote, Linwood,Mt Pleasant, New Brighton, Shirley, Sumner, Woolston.
15 Sep 15 Dec 15 Mar 15 Jun
Area 3:
Suburbs of Avonhead, Belfast, Bishopdale, Fendalton, Halswell, Harewood, Hornby, Ilam, Parklands, Templeton.
31 Aug 30 Nov 28 Feb 31 May

Where a due date falls on a weekend or public holiday, the next working day becomes the due date.