The Canterbury Waste Joint Committee is responsible for advancing regional solid waste and hazardous waste minimisation in Canterbury.

The following Councils are represented on the Committee:

Environment Canterbury staff provide ongoing advice relating to minimising hazardous wastes and substances.

Regional waste minimisation initiatives actioned by the Committee are in addition to member Councils' responsibilities as required by the Waste Minimisation Act 2008 and as set out in each Councils' respective waste minimisation plan.

The Committee's Constituting Agreement [PDF, 23 KB] and Regional Waste Agreement [PDF, 7 KB] govern its operations. Decisions are made by the elected members of the member Councils, based on written Staff Group reports.

Projects supported by the Committee aim to link strategically with initiatives run by national organisations including WasteMINZ, Local Government NZ and the Ministry for the Environment.

The Committee annually invites proposals for suitable waste minimisation project proposals within the Canterbury region.

Proposals assessed to be of sufficient potential value will be presented to the Committee. The total annual budget for all projects is $112,000.

  • Only waste minimisation projects with broad regional application in Canterbury will be considered. 
  • Two categories of proposed projects are sought:
    • Category 1 Smaller projects: $5,000 to $14,999 (excluding internal staff time) per year in funding applied for; and 
    • Category 2 Larger projects: $15,000 and up to $50,000 (excluding internal staff time) in funding applied for. 
  • Co-funding from other sources of a minimum of 40% of total project costs will be preferred. Where possible projects should demonstrate cross-sector support/participation.
  • Multi-year projects are preferred, however single year projects will be considered.
  • The applicant must be a legal entity.
  • Maximum length of proposals: 10 typed A4 pages. 
  • Contribute towards one or more of: Waste avoidance; Reduction of waste to landfill; Recovery of resources.
  • Demonstrated ability to deliver the project and relevant track record of applicant. 
  • Measurability of outcomes.
  • Details of self-funding and co-funding contributions for the proposed project.

Please read the grant application form carefully.  The application can be submitted in any format, but the expectation is that the requirements of this form has been addressed. 

Applicants will receive initial feedback  from the CWJC Staff Group in the first instance, where after a final list of recommended projects will be considered by the Committee for a final funding decision.  Keep in mind that Government procurement can and should be used to support wider social, economic, cultural and environmental outcomes. 

  • Fully completed proposals must be emailed to and must  be received by no later than 28 May.  
  • Stage One evaluation: Late May the Joint Committee's Staff Group will assess applications (on submitted material only) to shortlist proposals.  The Staff Group may request additional information or clarification.
  • Stage Two evaluation: Shortlisted applicants may be invited to present projects to the Staff Group later in early June.  The Staff Group will select a final list of proposed projects for consideration by the Canterbury Waste Joint Committee
  • In August (subject to change) the Canterbury Waste Joint Committee will consider and select successful projects. Applicants will be invited to attend and present their proposals.  Applicants will be notified of the outcome shortly thereafter. 

Email questions and proposals to

Canterbury Waste Joint Committee Staff Group

Ashburton District Council

Craig Goodwin

Christchurch City Council

Zed Potgieter
Eilidh Hilson

Hurunui District Council

Sally Cracknell

Kaikoura District Council

Bruce Apperley
Jacki Remihani

MacKenzie District Council

Angie Taylor

Selwyn District Council

Andrew Boyd

Timaru District Council

Briony Woodnorth

Waimakariri District Council

Kitty Waghorn

Waimate District Council

Paul Roberts