Wastewater treatment plants

Each day 170 million litres of wastewater is removed from Christchurch homes, shops, and business premises through 1734 kilometres of wastewater mains.


Processing wastewater for the Christchurch City area and also for Prebbleton, Lincoln, Springston, and Tai Tapu.


Covers Lyttelton, Corsair Bay, Cass Bay and Rapaki areas.

Governors Bay

Serves the immediate Governors Bay community of around 750 residents that live along Main Road to approximately 350m short of Church Lane.

Diamond Harbour

Serves the immediate Diamond Harbour community and round the bay to include Church Bay and Charteris Bay.


Akaroa Wastewater Treatment Plant is located at Takapūneke to the south of Akaroa township. It treats wastewater from Akaroa.


Serves a community of about 250 permanent residents including the Ngaio Point subdivision.