The Chairman Dances is characteristic of a mish-mash of minimalist iterations (and reiterations), conventional pseudo jazz timbres, persisting rhythms, and colourful orchestration.

Acclaimed percussion duo Fabian Ziegler and Luca Staffelbach make their New Zealand debut and perform the world premiere of the new concerto composed especially for them by John Psathas, which has been co-commissioned by the CSO and Orchestra Wellington.

Rautavaara's Symphony No. 7 entitled Angel of Light' was written in 1994 and completes his Angels Series, which also includes the orchestral work Angels and Visitations (1978) and the double bass concerto Angel of Dusk (1980). The symphony evokes both the benign and unpredictable forces of nature.

John Adams – The Chairman Dances: Foxtrot for Orchestra
John Psathas (NZ) – Percussion Duo Co-Commission
Rautavaara – Symphony No.7 (Angel of Light)

Benjamin Northey – Chief Conductor
Fabian Zeigler and Luca Staffelbach – Percussion