This October, the Friends of the Botanic Gardens are hosting free guided walks every day of the month. 

Join the friendly and knowledgeable guides on a journey through selected plant collections and learn about their history and what makes them so special. 


  • Walks are daily at 1.30pm and will run for 45 to 60 minutes unless stated otherwise.

  • Meet at the Kiosk (opposite the Armagh Street car park entrance to the Gardens).

  • Please register your interest for one of the following dates with friendsofthegardens@gmail.com.

There will also be two special walks at Mona Vale Gardens on Saturday 31 October and Saturday 28 November. These free walks will run for 90 minutes, meet at Mona Vale.

Walk schedule

Wednesday 28 October: Archery Lawn

Thursday 29 October: Gondwana Collection

Friday 30 October: New Zealand Gardens

Saturday 31 October: Rock and Crevice Gardens

Saturday 31 October: Mona Vale Gardens (90 minutes)

Sunday 1 November: Heritage Rose Garden

Monday 2 November: Heritage Rose Garden

Tuesday 3 November: Heritage Rose Garden

Wednesday 4 November: Gondwana Collection

Thursday 5 November: General Interest Walk (60-90 minutes)

Friday 6 November: General Interest Walk (60-90 minutes)

Saturday 7 November: Heritage Rose Garden

Sunday 8 November: Archery Lawn: Notable trees

Monday 9 November: Temperate Asian Border

Tuesday 10 November: Heritage Rose Garden

Wednesday 11 November: Heritage Rose Garden

Thursday 12 November: Heritage Rose Garden

Friday 13 November: General Interest Walk (60-90 minutes)

Saturday 14 November: Gondwana Collection

Sunday 15 November: New Zealand Native Gardens

Monday 16 November: Conservatories Collections

Tuesday 17 November: Cockayne Memorial Garden

Wednesday 18 November: Curators Garden

Thursday 19 November: Commemorative Trees

Friday 20 November: Conservatories Collections

Saturday 21 November: Temperate Asian Border

Sunday 22 November: Archery Lawn: Notable trees

Monday 23 November: Cockayne Memorial Garden

Tuesday 24 November: Armstrong Lawn: Plants and history

Wednesday 25 November: Heritage Rose Garden

Thursday 26 November: Herbaceous Border

Friday 27 November: Plant Hunters: Trees and their stories

Saturday 28 November: New Zealand Native Gardens

Saturday 28 November:  Mona Vale Gardens (90 minutes) 

Sunday 29 November: Gondwana Collection

Monday 30 November: Curators Garden