Community Service Awards are given to individuals and groups in recognition of significant voluntary service.

Nominations have now closed for 2023

Our Community Service Awards give well-deserved recognition to the people who make our communities better places to live.

They are a way of thanking and honouring volunteers who, without pay and with little recognition, demonstrate dedication and passion, inspiring others to make service a central part of their lives.

Whether for youth, older adults, education, culture, church, recreation, sport or community service fields, we want to ensure volunteers are thanked and honoured for their dedication. 

We only find out about these people through you. If you know of someone who deserves recognition for their community service, nominate them for a Community Service Award.



Nominations open on Friday 3 March 2023.

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday 31 March 2023.


Respective Community Boards consider nominations.


Nominees and nominators will be advised of the decision.

Recipients will be invited to receive awards at a ceremony hosted by their local Community Board.

Participating Community Boards

Community Boards participating in 2023

  • Waihoro Spreydon-Cashmere-Heathcote
  • Waitai Coastal-Burwood-Linwood
  • Waipuna Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton

Community Service Award nominations are considered and decided by the respective Community Boards.

People will be eligible for Community Service Awards in the area in which they work, however, if the work is in a metropolitan organisation covering more than two board areas, then the nomination shall be considered in the board area where the nominee does the majority of their voluntary work.

Community Boards not participating in 2023

  • Te Pātaka o Rākaihautū Banks Peninsula
  • Waipapa Papanui-Innes-Central
  • Waimāero Fendalton-Waimairi-Harewood

Youth Service Awards

Youth Service Awards are presented in recognition of significant voluntary service carried out by residents aged 25 or under.

Community Boards participating this year are Waihoro Spreydon-Cashmere-Heathcote, Waitai Coastal-Burwood-Linwood and Waipuna Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton.

This award is to recognise individual effort rather than that of a whole group or organisation.

How to nominate

Nominating someone you value within your organisation, club or society is easy.

Here's how to get started:

  1. Make sure you have two people who are prepared to put their names on the nomination form. Both must be aware of the details of the nomination.
  2. Think about how the community has benefitted from their service, what the nominee has achieved to be nominated and how long they’ve been volunteering.
  3. Collect supporting information like a letter of support or evidence of their service. Try to include as much evidence to support your nomination as you can to assist the Community Board in their decision.
  4. Submit your nomination.

2023 nominations closed at 5pm on Friday 31 March 2023.