Christchurch celebrates its 27th year of Community Pride Garden Awards in 2017.

The awards are a Council initiative started in 1991, which has been a joint venture between the Community Boards and the Christchurch Beautifying Association since 1997. 

The awards encourage civic pride and acknowledge those who have contributed to maintaining the image of Christchurch as the Garden City by beautifying their streets and gardens.

Award certificateParticipating Community Boards

The following Community Boards are participating in Community Pride Garden Awards in 2017:

  • Fendalton-Waimairi-Harewood
  • Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton
  • Linwood-Central-Heathcote
  • Papanui-Innes
  • Spreydon-Cashmere.

Note: Coastal-Burwood Community Board is not participating in Community Pride Garden Awards in 2017.

Application process

There is no application required.

Selection criteria

Judges select award-winners by viewing all gardens that are visible from the street in participating Community Board areas – gardens can be residential or commercial. Judges take into account effort, overall tidiness, and impact of the garden on the street.

There is no competition and all gardens meeting the standard are awarded a certificate.

Judging dates

Between 15 and 29 January 2017, volunteer judges from the Christchurch Beautifying Association will select gardens for Community Pride Garden Awards. Judging for Street & Garden Awards takes place at the same time.

Notifying award-winners

Judges put a notification card in the letterbox of award winners at the time of judging.

Award presentation

Certificates are presented to award-winners in February or March at ceremonies hosted by participating Community Boards. Alternatively, certificates can be posted. Community Boards awarded 711 certificates for outstanding gardens in 2016.


15 - 29 January: Judging takes place in participating Community Board areas.

February/March: Certificates are presented at award ceremonies hosted by participating Community Boards.

For further information

Please contact the Council