Christchurch Civic Awards

The Christchurch City Council presents annual awards to recognise substantial service, usually of a voluntary nature benefiting the City of Christchurch and its people.

All the 2016 civic awards winners with the mayor.Any significant contribution to the life of the city and its people may be presented for civic commendation.

Nominations for 2017 are open until 5pm on Friday, 18 August 2017 using this nomination guide and form.

Making a nomination

Nominations for 2017 are open until 5pm 18 August 2017

Individuals, societies, associations, clubs etc. can make nominations.

  1. Complete the nomination form [PDF, 229 KB] which is also available at all Christchurch City Council Service Centres and Public Libraries.
  2. Nominations must be received on or before the closing date.
    • Post your completed nomination to Civic Awards, Christchurch City Council, PO Box 73016, Christchurch or
    • Deliver to any Christchurch City Council Service Centre clearly marked with Civic Award Nomination. 

Criteria for judging

  • The criteria for judging sets out some guidelines for the Committee and recommends a process for judging that allows for clarity and accountability.
  • Judging panel cannot act as a nominator.
  • The Council, as a body, may not submit nominations, although nominations may be submitted by councillors and community board members as individuals.
  • Each nomination will be judged on its own merit against the following criteria: 
    1. Work of a 'substantial nature' is defined as short-term or long-term projects or activities that have benefited the city in such a way as to have added to the quality of life of the residents. 
    2. Each nomination is considered in the way it benefits the Metropolitan area of Christchurch. 'Metropolitan' means the area encompassing the east coast, the boundaries of Selwyn District Council, Waimakariri District Council and Banks Peninsula District Council. 
      • Nominations may be made for individuals and organisations whose work, usually of a voluntary capacity, is considered to have made an impact on the city of Christchurch.
      • No award recipient will be eligible to receive both a Civic Award and a Community Board Award in the same year.

Further information

If you wish to discuss your nomination please contact:

Milinda Peris 
Civic and International Relations Team
Phone: (03) 941 8251 

Recipients of Christchurch Civic Awards 2016

Civic Award

304th Expeditionary Airlift Squadron, United States Air Force - for community service
Akaroa Lighthouse Preservation Society - for heritage preservation
The Christchurch Community Response Volunteers - for community service
David Leonard Ching - for services to sport and education
Professor Hong Hu - for services to education and international relations
Independent Fisheries - for international relations and co-operation
Ira Mitchell-Kirk - for community service
Josiah Tavita Tualamali’i - for youth advocacy

View the full list of the 2016 recipients and their services.

The Chair and members of the Civic Awards subcommittee wish to thank the public for their interest in the Civic Awards and for submitting nominations for consideration.