TE HONONGA COUNCIL – PAPATIPU R $\bar{\mathbf{U}}$ NANGA COMMITTEE - TERMS OF REFERENCE / NG $\bar{\mathbf{A}}$ RAHINA MAHINGA

Joint Chairs	Mayor Dalziel and Dr Te Maire Tau
Membership	Deputy Mayor Turner
	Councillor Chen
	Councillor Cotter
	Councillor Davidson
	Councillor Templeton
	Councillor Mauger
	The Chairperson (or alternate) of
	Te Rūnanga o Wairewa
	Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga
	Te Rūnanga o Koukourārata
	Te Taumutu Rūnanga
	Te Hapū o Ngāti Wheke
	Ōnuku Rūnanga
Quorum	Half of the members if the number of members (including vacancies) is
	even, or a majority of members if the number of members (including
	vacancies) is odd.
Meeting Cycle	Quarterly, with additional meetings as required.
Reports To	Council

Context

There are four Rūnanga whose takiwā or territories lie within the Christchurch City Council's area of jurisdiction. Two, Te Taumutu Rūnanga and Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga, have boundaries that include Christchurch City but also extend beyond the City Council's jurisdiction.

Representatives from each Rūnanga come together to form Te Kāhui Kahukura, a body which has the authority to exercise decision making powers on behalf of Ngā Papatipu Rūnanga. Through its various regulatory functions, such as District Planning and others prescribed by the Resource Management Act, the Christchurch City Council has a direct relationship with Te Kāhui Kahukura.

6 Papatipu Rūnanga

Te Kāhui Kahukura -6 Rūnanga Representatives Christchurch City Council Te Hononga Council -Papatipu Rūnanga Committee 6 Rūnanga Representatives, Mayor and Committee Chairs

In this context, the Christchurch City Council established Te Hononga Council - Papatipu Rūnanga Committee, which includes representatives from the Council and the six Rūnanga, to further enhance the relationship between the Council and Ngāi Tahu.

There are three intrinsic values which are fundamental to Ngā Papatipu Rūnanga. These are protecting and enhancing water quality, protecting Māori Reserve Land, and safeguarding the interests of future generations. These are closely aligned with three equivalent values held by the Christchurch City Council. The Council has statutory responsibility for meeting the needs of future generations, providing safe drinking water and protecting its parks and reserves. The committee

will work to seek alignment of these values and work towards them for the benefit of everyone in Christchurch and Banks Peninsula.

The takiwā of the six Papatipu Rūnanga was described Schedule 1 of the Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu Act 1996, which has since been superseded by the Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu (Declaration of Membership) Order 2001:



Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga

The takiwā of Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga centres on Tuahiwi and extends from the Hurunui to Hakatere, sharing an interest with Arowhenua Rūnanga northwards to Rakaia, and thence inland to the Main Divide.

Rapaki Rūnanga

The takiwā of Rapaki Rūnanga centres on Rapaki and includes the catchment of Whakaraupo and Te Kaituna.

Te Rūnanga o Koukourārata

The takiwā of Te Rūnanga o Koukourārata centres on Koukourārata and extends from Pohatu Pā to the shores of Te Waihora including Te Kaituna.

Wairewa Rūnanga

The takiwā of Wairewa Rūnanga centres on Wairewa and the catchment of the lake Te Wairewa and the hills and coast to the adjoining takiwā of Koukourārata, Onuku Rūnanga, and Taumutu Rūnanga.

<u>Te Rūnanga o Ōnuku</u>

The takiwā of Te Rūnanga o Ōnuku centres on Ōnuku and the hills and coasts of Akaroa to the adjoining takiwa of Te Rūnanga o Koukourārata and Wairewa Rūnanga.

Taumutu Rūnanga

The takiwā of Taumutu Rūnanga centres on Taumutu and the waters of Te Waihora and adjoining lands and shares a common interest with Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga and Te Rūnanga o Arowhenua in the area south to Hakatere.

Responsibilities

Te Hononga Council - Papatipu Rūnanga Committee is responsible for the following:

- Leading the development of an enduring collaborative relationship between the Council and Ngā Papatipu Rūnanga.
- Building shared understanding and strong coordinated leadership on matters of mutual interest within the respective areas of jurisdiction.
- Having oversight of, and providing advice and assistance to the Council on, matters of significance or priority to Māori, and to inform Council decision making.
- Receiving regular updates from staff on Council programmes and projects of significance or priority to Māori.
- Operating in accordance with the Relationship Agreement between Christchurch City Council and Ngā Papatipu Rūnanga signed on 15 December 2016.

Delegations

This Committee can make recommendations to the Council but does not have delegated authority to make formal decisions on behalf of the Council.

Resourcing

- The Principal Advisor Ngāi Tahu Relationships will act as the Principal Advisor to the Committee.
- A Senior Advisor also forms part of the Ngāi Tahu Māori Relationships team.
- A Committee Advisor from the Hearings and Council Support Team will provide administrative and procedural support to the Committee.
- All three of these positions will be provided by the Council.
- An annual budget allocation is also made in accordance with the work programme.